Test your password?!?


Ok, maybe I’m just a bit more paranoid than everybody else out there, but I don’t care what you tell me, I’m not putting in my password on a page that I have no control over so you can ‘test how secure it is’.

The FAQ section says that he/she/they is/are NOT collecting passwords.

It also says it’s done in Javascript.  That right THERE is going to make me NOT put it in.

Sure, you get it on your computers cache, then unplug the network cable.  What’s from stopping the thing from cacheing the password and sending it home when you do plug back in.

Now because I’m the type of guy I am, I was just going to leave it be and not worry about looking at the code.  But my conscience and curiosity wouldn’t let me do that.

I pulled the code and looked at it.  yes, this does exactly what it says it does without transmitting it anywhere. BUT, that’s just the JavaScript code, it’s not the entire website code.  Again, I’m not saying this site is set up to steal your password, but me being paranoid, well.  :)

I give kudos to the person/people doing this trying to get the word out about passwords.  It think it’s a great idea. But as with all things online, be wary of where you put your info.

I do have to say though, I’ve done a bit of research on who put this up and have found that as far as I can tell, it’s reputable and doesn’t look like someone that’s out to grab your passwords.  Like they say in the FAQ, what’s he going to do?  Make a cake with them?

If you want it, I’m offering the code here as well, it’s distributed under a creative commons by-sa license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)

As far as being accurate, I don’t doubt that it is except for the fact that it only uses the most common 13 symbols in the english language.  Other than that, yeah, it’s pretty accurate.

Again, I wouldn’t personally put my password in, but hey…if you’re not paranoid or just don’t care, check it out.

Or you can try this one that I just created:

Er3~rPx=9@Gn4>mFw<2$

Apparently, it would take about 100 sextillion years for a desktop PC to crack this password.

If you want to try it, head on over to How Secure Is My Password?

~ by Normanomicon on July 8, 2010.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

