Middletown Family robbed in Harrisburg


Seen over at Pennlive.com:

Police say the parents, 37-year-old man and a 39-year-old woman, drove to Harrisburg with their 9-year-old daughter Tuesday evening to meet with the seller and look at the advertised game system. They were first directed to go to North Second and Maclay streets and received further instructions from the seller to go to Fourth and Delaware streets.

Ok, first off, let me say this:  I have successfully purchased multiple items off of Craigslist and have found that the majority of people on there are decent.  I have also found there are a lot of JackWad’s out there as well.

Something that this couple should have done was when they first were told to meet someone at a convenience store and were then told to go elsewhere, that should have tipped them off right there.  End of story, no sale.  But when they got to the next place, the guys told them to come into their house to see the system?  No dice.  I don’t care how good a deal it is, no dice.  Also, when you see two guys parked next to you in a car at a convenience store, then see them again where you’re ‘supposed to meet’ the sellers?  Definitely scram time.  I’m not saying that it’s their fault they were robbed, but it would have saved them and their daughter considerable money and possible nightmares if they would have just taken into account some common sense things.

If the deal seems too good to be true (even on Craigslist) it usually is.  There are RARE and I do mean RARE occasions that it’s true. But for the most part, it’s a scam or something isn’t quite right.

My personal opinion, the two guys would probably be laying in the street with bullet holes in them and I’d be sitting in lockup waiting to be released on a self defense shooting verdict if it were me.  Of course, I’d probably have been gunned down by someone else in the area that saw it too, so it’s still a lose lose situation.  Of course, I’d not be as gullible to go looking for something on a double drop meet and buy.

Again, some people are just naive, AGAIN, I’m NOT saying it’s their fault, I just hope they learn from their mistake.  I’m happy that the couple and their daughter were ok with nothing more than a bad scare.  I just hope that the cops will catch these guys, but most likely, they won’t find them.

Although a little bit of tracking through Craigslit and some warrants to the ISP’s and mail providers should get them at least a little closer to who did it if not find the actual people.  After all, the guys that did it may be smart enough to lure someone to a double blind drop, but I’m sure they’re not smart enough to use fake e-mails and anonymous ISP info.

What do you think?

~ by Norman White on November 24, 2010.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers

