Country ribs with parmesan crusted garlic bread


You know, with all of the cooking posts I’ve been doing lately, people are going to start to think this is a food blog…No matter…Now, on with the foodie stuff.

I had those pork ribs from the weekend that I decided to make up.

Last night, my son and I made a marinade using the following:

  • Red cooking wine
  • Tomato soup
  • Minced garlic
  • Soy sauce
  • Lemon Juice
  • Pepper
  • Seasonall
  • Oil
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Brown Mustard
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Cyanne pepper
  • Chili powder
  • Minced onion

I let this simmer a bit and let some of the liquid cook off and when the liquid cooled placed it in a plastic bag with the ribs to soak and marinate over night.

The ribs were bone in country ribs, but to be honest, the bone was more of a nub than anything, they were almost boneless, and thick, wow were these things thick.

I used a grilling plate and grilling basket (decided to try two different ways of grilling them) to do the actually grilling.  And I think the ribs in the basket actually turned out better, at least they had less of a burn on some of the edges.  While grilling I used a homestyle barbecue sauce by covering them liberally during the entire grilling time.  I had turned them at least four times so they wouldn’t get too much of a burn on them and with the sauce, I think they turned out pretty nice.

The bread now, mmmm it’s a square ‘hand made’ style pizza dough that was nice and thick.  I used a spreadable butter along with a garlic spread and some ground fresh garlic (for added texture and flavor) as well as parsley and oregano.  I spread it on pretty liberally and then sprinkled grated parmesan cheese evenly over the entire surface.  Baked it for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees and it turned out just a bit on the crisp side but absolutely fantastic.

We had carrots as the vegetable and some home style potato salad.  Overall, I think dinner turned out spectacular.

Tomorrow night is the soy, ginger, maple, garlic chicken that I’ve got marinating over night.

Let me know if you’ve got any good marinade or BBQ sauce recipes, I’d love to hear them.

~ by Norman White on March 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “Country ribs with parmesan crusted garlic bread”

  1. This. Looks. Amazing.

    • It truly was, I’m very happy the way it turned out. The ribs had a great flavor to them and the marinade had enough time to let the flavor come out. The bread was just fantastic however next time I’m going to pull it out just a few minutes sooner to make it a little less crispy.

Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

