ITS Tactical


ITS Tactical has some great articles that can be used in either a tactical or practical sense.  One of their standard features is the knot of the week.

http://www.itstactical.com/2009/12/08/shorten-rope-for-no-tangle-storage/

Their latest one, the Chain Sinnet (Daisy Chain, Chain Plait) is one that I can recommend.

I LOVE the daisy chain to store both rope and webbing.  I pull each loop tight however and instead of a tighter knot at the beginning, I leave it as just a straight loop.

I use these on smaller lengths of rope/webbing and hang them off of my gear when climbing/hiking and it’s saved my butt in a tight spot a few times.  With the knots tight, it makes a fairly decent climbing assist (easier to grip when going up/down) and with the first loop left as a loop instead of a know, a flick of the wrist and the whole thing unravels in a second or two.

It saved me from a second story drop with full gear one time when it was either drop or burn.  I can recommend this highly for both long and short runs of either rope or webbing.

Oh, and it looks pretty cool if it’s a shorter length hanging from pack or gear, and short lengths can even be made into key fobs.

~ by Normanomicon on December 8, 2009.

 
