Tactical to Practical, goggles & shemagh…


Over the last several years I’ve been told that I’m a conspiracy theorist, a geek, a nerd, a fanboy, a survivalist, quite a few things.  I’ve also been told that I have delusions about things and are way too into the tactical side of things.

Yes, I am paranoid, yes, I am a geek aspiring to be a nerd (be a nerd when I hit 6 figure salary), yes I’m a fanboy and yes, I do like tactical stuff.  Let me explain a bit about the tactical stuff;

There are quite a few items out there that have been made specifically for tactical purposes, but I have found a way to utilize them in a practical sense.  Let’s take a look at a few things;

Goggles

These goggles were originally designed for troops to help with sun, wind, sand, etc.  Yes, there are safety goggles, there are snow goggles, etc.  But, for 12 bucks, it’s military grade, swap-able lenses (clear and tinted), they manage fogging, etc.  Now tell me, why should I pay $20, $30, $50 or more for something that I can get cheap?

Shemagh;

This traditional desert headwear is essential for protecting eyes, nose, mouth, and neck from sand. Can also be used as a neck warmer or hand towel. Currently used by US, British, and Coalition Forces in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Yes, I know this is a ‘scarf’.  I know there are tons of scarves out there.  But, I also know that they aren’t as large as I’d like them to be and let’s face it, when worn right, this just lays right.  It’s great for wearing when I go packing, camping, etc, can be used as a towel, can be used to help keep me warm and keep the wind, sand, snow and dirt out of my face and off my neck.  Besides, for $8.00 you can’t go wrong.

This is all I’m going to share tonight, I think I’ll add one or two items a week or every few days, so check back often to see what I’m offering.

For more Tactical to Practical, please visit my full list here

~ by Normanomicon on February 10, 2010.

 
