Tactical to Practical Pocket Pouch, Briefcase…


This weeks tactical to practical I bring you the tactical pocket pouch and tactical brief case.

The ‘Tactical’ Briefcase

I have seen many different laptop bags and in fact have many different laptop bags, cases and brief cases.  I’ve tried the backpacks, the aluminum cases, the sling bags…none of them really offer me what I’m looking for.  This briefcase/laptop bag comes closest.

It’s designed for field use so it’s constructed pretty tough, I’ve put it through some tough things as well, airport, trunk of the car, been bounced around the office as well as being put through the ringer between traveling back and forth just about everywhere.

It’s got more than enough storage space for the laptop, power supply, mouse, notepads, tools, additional items such as pda, phone, glasses, etc.  The laptop compartment is padded with velcro straps to keep the device in place and has a nice velcro attached pull out organizer in the front pouch in case I prefer to pull it out and replace it with a weapon holster or some other gear.

The pack itself can be carried three ways:

  • Backpack – the straps stow inside the back panel when not needed
  • Standard Briefcase
  • Messenger bag configuration – nice long padded strap with sturdy buckles

Original color choices were black, OD, ACU, tan and MultiCam.  I would have preferred the tan, but they only had black, ACU and MultiCam.  Definitely didn’t want another black laptop case as they tend to attract more heat in the summer and wasn’t going to pay the extra $20.00 for MultiCam.

It’s a bit on the pricey side for what I usually pay for something like this, but in the end it was worth it.  I picked mine up at http://www.cheaperthandirt.com and it was around $30.00 cheaper than most places.

The ‘Tactical’ Pocket Pouch

This pouch is a nice little pack.  It’ll hold a few pens, a knife, a mini-screwdriver, flashlight, notepad, keys, cards, cash.  Just about anything small that needs to be carried can be stowed in here.  It also fits in a cargo pocket very nicely.  My personal ‘load out’ for it is;

  • Gerber paraframe
  • Write In The Rain notepad
  • Write In The Rain pen
  • AA Size Mag Light (with tail-cap switch)
  • Mini 6-in-1 screwdriver
  • Mechanical pencil
  • Spare credit card
  • Spare cash
  • Gerber MultiPliers

Everything fits in perfectly and is ready at a moments notice.  It’s come in handy and a few times and I’ve ended up using it as much at work as I have for other things, it’s kind of a ‘Go To Bag’ that I’ve always got at arms reach.

It’s a nice addition to my briefcase or ‘But out bag’ in the car.  The biggest problem I can speak of is that it tends to get weighted down with what I’ve got in it.  🙂

Again, got this at a real good price ($5.00) and it’s been put to good use.  It’s geared more towards the military so it’s very well constructed and has been put through the test from going through the washer and dryer as well as being dropped and run over a few times.  Overall it’s a tough little pouch that I’m glad I picked up.

Pictures of both below.

For more Tactical to Practical, please visit my full list here

~ by Normanomicon on February 20, 2010.

One Response to “Tactical to Practical Pocket Pouch, Briefcase…”

  1. I like the pocket pouch idea. I will have to look for one of those.

Comments are closed.

 
