Microsoft must be Democrats…


Yup, I said it.  I’m probably going to get FLAMED hard for this one, but I’ve said it.

Microsoft must be of a Democrat/Liberal mindset.

Let’s TAX the public and fix the problems We (Micro$oft) created.

That’s not exactly the wording that Microsoft Vice President for Trustworthy Computing Scott Charney used.  What he did pitch however at the RSA conference was;

A web usage fee as one way to subsidize efforts to combat emerging cyber threats — a costly venture, he said, but one that had vast community benefits.

Read more of the full story over at Hillicon Valley – The Hill’s Technology Blog.

I’m sorry.  This is another way for Microsoft to push us into ‘buying into’ their operating system.  Yes, I do use a Mac.  Yes, I do use Linux.  Yes, I do use the internet.  Unfortunately, I also have to use Micro$oft for work.  But, let’s take a look at the majority of issues on the internet right now.  A good percentage of it is holes in the operating system (majority is M$ OS).  I personally feel that they couldn’t write non-buggy code if their life depended on it.

Yes, I know Apple and Linux both also have vulnerabilities, but I can say from personal experience in the Information Security field that Microsoft has put out more patch releases to fix holes in their products in one month than Apple does in SIX months.  Why is that?  Does Apple write better code?  Do they have better QA control?  I can’t say for sure, and as far as I know, it may just be the security through obscurity thing, but one things for sure.  Microsoft has CRAPPY QA control.

Yes, I understand that they have over 4,000 hits a day against them.  Still, that’s no reason to let holes open in their products.  So now, one of their top executives is touting to bring a tax to help them fix the problem by making cyber security more forefront in the environment.

I’m sorry, I don’t believe in the “Hope and Change” that Obama is spouting by taking MY hard earned tax dollars and giving to people who don’t feel like working for themselves.  I’m DEFINITELY don’t believe in Micro$oft pushing for the same thing.

That’s just my opinion.

~ by Normanomicon on March 3, 2010.

 
