Wing Stories (part 1)


Hey, here’s the first of two reviews of wings tonight.

The family and I went to Aroogas on Rt 22 in Harrisburg tonight for dinner, I was craving wings and figured for .45 per wing it wasn’t that bad.  Considering they were normally $10 for 10, it’s not that bad a deal.

My wife ordered the Coal Crackers and Thai wings and I ordered the Jalapeno/Cheddar wings, Wasabi wings and hot honey wings.

The Jalapeno and cheddar wings had an incredible flavor, great texture, very creamy.  A hint of spice with more of the jalapeno flavor.  The hot honey wings were sweet, savory, lightly spicy and almost perfect combination.  the coal crackers had a good flavor, but it wasn’t the greatest.  The Thai wings were ok, but definitely not the best thai wings we’ve had.  The Wasabi wings were the HUGE let down.  They had an ok flavor, they were supposed to be mixed wasabi and horse radish, but it just wasn’t there.

As far as coverage is concerned, the hot honey, thai and coal crackers were covered just fine, of course we wouldn’t have complained if they were a little wetter.  The wasabi wings barely had any sauce on them and the jalapeno could definitely had more sauce on them.  I think I had two of them that had almost no sauce at all.

The wings themselves were small and some of them were so ‘malnutritioned’ that they weren’t worth anything but sucking the sauce off of them.  There were a few wings that were also over cooked and almost burnt.

Overall, I give them a 6 out of 10 on the scale and most of that was for the flavor and service.

I’ve had better wings and in fact I’ve had better wings at an Aroogas, but not this night.

~ by Normanomicon on April 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Wing Stories (part 1)”

  1. I have found that the boneless wings (Thursday night’s special) are much better. My fave is the Buffalo Bleu. As much as I love hot, it doesn’t love me anymore, but that Buffalo Bleu has a good mix. One time, I had one not wet, but the rest of the time, it was a good experience. I have only eaten at the one on Rt. 22.

Comments are closed.

 
