Wing Stories (Part 2)


Now for the REAL story that you’ve all been waiting for.

I know I’ve been a little late getting this up here, but I wanted to make sure that I had ample time to get it all down.

Last Thursday night, there was a Zombie Apocalypse Wing Challenge at the Appalachian Brewing Company on Cameron Street in Harrisburg.  ABC hosted the challenge and the sauce was provided by Torchbearer Sauces.

Thorcbearer Sauces can be found online at www.torchbearersauces.com, on Facebook, by phone at 717-697-3568 or you can pick up their sauces at local Giant food stores in the Central Pennsylvania area.

They’ve got quite a few different sauces, check out the different ones they have over at their website.  For now, I’m going to be reviewing the ABC wings and the Zombie Apocalypse sauce.

The night started downstairs on the ABC stage. There was a lot of people there that night and I think a lot of them were there to see this event.

There was I think about 10-12 of us that took the challenge.

There were quite a few of us from the Harrisburg Twitter group there, myself, DaCheet, KatieCyborg, a few others.

We all had bleu cheese, celery, a glass of milk and a glass of water in front of us.  The only thing we were allowed to touch during the consuming phase was the one glass of water. The rest of the stuff there was to ‘entice’ us, or to ‘taunt’ us during eating the wings.

There was also extra Zombie sauce available if we wanted it and several 5 gallon buckets there if they were needed. I’m not going to get THAT graphic, so I won’t say what the buckets were for but I’m sure you can guess.

All the challengers had to eat all 15 wings and at the end, place their hands on the table for six minutes and sixty-six seconds (6:66).

Once all the wings were brought out, we started in on them.

My overall opinion on the wings were great taste, great ‘attempt’ at heat, great combo of flavor/heat mix, good texture, excellent smell and the wings themselves were large and meaty.

My first bite left me a little disappointed though, I was expecting basically fire and brimstone from hell.  What I got was a pleasant surprise. Now let me stop right here and explain something. They made us sign a waiver stating that we won’t hold ABC or TB Sauces responsible for anything, not a problem.  But I’ve signed probably half of the waivers in this state and then some.  I’ve eaten hot foods from east coast to Arizona, Canada to Texas, Thai restaurant, indian food, mexican food, Chinese, you name it, I’ve most likely eaten it.  I have NEVER found anything so hot that I couldn’t eat it.  I’ve never even come close.  I’ve won meals for a whole party of people who I was out with because a restaurant couldn’t make something that I couldn’t eat.  That being said, most of what I’ve had has been pure lame attempts at heat.

TB sauces has some of the best tasting ‘hot’ sauce I’ve had in a LONG time. It’s also one of the hotter sauces that I’ve had.  On a scale of 1-10 on flavor, I give it a 9.  On a scale of 1-10 on the heat side of things, I give it around a 7 (by the way, it’s the highest I’ve ever rated a hot sauce on the heat side of things).  I’d say this has got to be one of the best overall.

Back to the challenge…After the first wing, it was pleasant and I started to dig in.  Now it did get a little warmer as I went on, but to be totally honest, I really didn’t break that much of a sweat. Some of the other people there were sweating pretty good and the ones that hadn’t eaten the sauce before held their own pretty good.  Katie wanted to eat as many as she could without going over the edge and she made it to 9.  She was a real trooper at it and she originally set her goal at 3 wings.  Good Job Katie.

DaCheet who happened to bring his survival kit  (see picture below) set his goal at five wings.  He actually plowed through and made it all the way to 15.  He was definitely feeling it though, but he pushed through like a true food warrior.  I give him top marks for style, endurance and comedy value the entire time.  He looked at a few times like he wasn’t going to make it, but in the end, he held on.  Great Job DaCheet.

Becca was also there from the Harrisburg Twitter group and she just wanted to see how far she could go.  She looked like she was going to drop out a few times, but she was just pacing herself. She was one of the last ones done, but she finished them all.  She was also feeling the effects of it, but at the end, she just made up her mind to push through and finish them off.  Excellent job Becca.  Oh, this also happened to be her birthday…What a way to celebrate.  🙂

HAPPY BIRTHDAY REBECCA.  😉

I know, it’s late, but hey…Nothing like seeing your name plastered all over the web, right?  🙂  You’re what, 22 now?  😉

Anywho,

Most everyone finished the wings and in the end we put our hands down, and made it through. There is no shame in tapping out, not everyone is built to withstand spicy foods.  I just either have a gift or a curse to have it not really bother me, I haven’t figured out which it is yet.  ???

Overall, it was a great time, plenty of people to cheer us on, plenty of wings and sauce to go around.

I definitely give both ABC and TB Sauces two thumbs up.

From what I understand, they were supposed to use a cup of sauce per 15 wings, so that may be why it wasn’t as devastating as I was hoping it to be.  We’ll see at the next one.  I’m ready, are you?

~ by Normanomicon on April 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Wing Stories (Part 2)”

  1. I have to get me a bottle of that.

Comments are closed.

 
