hhGregg…


This evening, my family and I decided to go out for dinner.  This was after a second day of working to get the garden up to full speed.

Anyhow, we went out for dinner then I wanted to take a look at the new hhGregg.

We saw it originally when it was being put in the old Circuit City storefront in Colonial Commons.

We got the flyers in the mail, I heard people say they liked it, etc.  I decided to check it out myself.

We walked in and I thought “wow, are they out of stock on stuff?”.  Turns out, they’re not, it’s just THAT empty.  They have almost nothing on the stock floor but the demo models.  It looks kind of like a high end department store without the high end ‘stuff’.

They have plenty of washers, dryers, refridgerators, etc to look at, a couple laptops, a few desktops, some cameras a small AT&T cell phone stand, a HUGE television section that took up one and a half walls.  They even had a few mattresses in the back corner.

The appliances were over priced, we got an exact same model from Home Depot for about $150/200 less than what Gregg was advertising for.  The mattresses were outrageously priced, even for what they were.  Computers – same deal, over priced.  Didn’t look too much at TV’s as we’re not quite in the buying frame of mind yet, but I think overall, the TV’s were the best priced items in the store.

Overall, I can sum up my review of hhGregg in three words.

I’m not impressed.

My personal preference for appliances is either Home Depot, Sears or Best Buy, depending on what we’re looking for.  For electronics, most likely Best Buy or Apple.  But, don’t take my word for it, go see for yourself.

hhGreggs website

hhGregg Retail Store Locator

~ by Normanomicon on May 2, 2010.

One Response to “hhGregg…”

  1. Yes, please don’t take his word for it. Shop hhgregg and compare. I don’t think you will see the same thing. They are not overpriced.

Comments are closed.

 
