Double Down


I took the plunge today and while hungry for chicken and (always hungry) for bacon, I dropped by KFC and grabbed a Double Down.

For those of you that have been living under a rock for the past few months, the Double Down is two pieces of regular chicken breast sandwiching bacon, cheese and special sauce. That’s it, no bread, no lettuce ,etc.

Description from the KFC Site:

The new KFC Double Down sandwich is real! This one-of-a-kind sandwich features two thick and juicy boneless white meat chicken filets (Original Recipe® or Grilled), two pieces of bacon, two melted slices of Monterey Jack and pepper jack cheese and Colonel’s Sauce. This product is so meaty, there’s no room for a bun!

The Double Down comes in two versions – Original Recipe® or Grilled.

I have to say, it’s not bad, but not something I’d eat often. I just couldn’t do it.

The cheese gives it an odd flavor, I’d have used the cheese whiz type cheese, it could use more bacon, but again, overall it’s decent. I picked up the ‘combo’ lunch with potato wedges and a water to drink (I already was consuming WAY more calories than one should at one setting).

Now, here’s the bad stuff, the nutrition information (taken from KFC Nutrition):

Double Down
Serving Size (grams)    241
Calories        540
Calories from fat    290
Total Fat (grams)    32
Saturated Fat (grams)    10
Trans Fat (grams)    0.5
Cholesterol (miligrams)    145
Sodium (miligrams)    1380
Carbohydrates (grams)    11
Dietary Fiber (grams)    1
Sugars (grams)        1
Protein (grams)        53

Potato Wedges
Serving Size (grams)    102
Calories        260
Calories from fat    110
Total Fat (grams)    13
Saturated Fat (grams)    2.5
Trans Fat (grams)    0
Cholesterol (miligrams)    0
Sodium (miligrams)    740
Carbohydrates (grams)    33
Dietary Fiber (grams)    3
Sugars (grams)        0
Protein (grams)        4

Now after it’s been in my gut for a few hours, I’ve got to say that it’s sitting there like a ROCK.  I do NOT think I’ll be having another one of these for quite a while, if at all.  I just can’t eat like I used to.  🙂  Of course after 40, can any of us really do that?


~ by Normanomicon on June 2, 2010.

 
