Dr Who


I have loved Dr Who since I was a kid, I remember sitting in front of the TV watching and enjoying the show to no end.  The wonderous places and times they would travel to, the characters they met.  The villians and heroes and the gadgets, Ohhhh, the gadgets.  I remember pretending I was ‘The Dr’ and being able to go through time and space to all of these wonderful worlds, meeting all of the people and saving the world.

I think this is one of the series that really drilled into me my geekdom.  It was a sad sad day when the final Dr Who aired on television.  Of course, we were years behind the series as they originally aired in the UK and there was no such thing as BBC America at that time.  I hear that currently they’re remastering the original series and when I find a decent price, I’ll be picking up the entire series from the first to the current Dr.

I do have my favorites, don’t get me wrong, but there’s just a few that really stick in my mind.  I also have my favorite companions and gadgets.  Don’t really know if I have a favorite ‘bad guy’, or episode, but here’s the list of Dr’s, favorite companions and some gadgets.

The Dr

  • 1st Dr – William Hartnell
  • 2nd Dr – Patrick Troughton
  • 3rd Dr – Jon Pertwee
  • 4th Dr – Tom Baker
  • 5th Dr – Peter Davison
  • 6th Dr – Colin Baker
  • 7th Dr – Sylvester McCoy
  • 8th Dr – Paul McGann
  • 9th Dr – Christopher Eccleston
  • 10th Dr – David Tennant
  • 11th Dr – Matt Smith – Current Dr

The Companions (my favorites)

  • Leela
  • Rose Tyler
  • Amy Pond

The Gadgets

  • The Sonic Screwdriver
    • There were at least 5 Sonic Screwdrivers and one Laser Screwdriver.  The Laser Screwdriver was The Masters
  • The Tardis
  • K9

There are also some really good Dr/Companion interactions.  They would have to be Tom Baker/Leela and Rose Tyler/David Tennant. Now these are just my opinion, but hey, I’ve been wrong before.

I’ve been watching the current series for a while now and I just can’t seem to get into Matt as the Dr right now.  I thought the same thing about Eccleston though and I ended up liking him.  I’ll have to see how Matt does as The Dr, but till then, I’ll still have the last few to remember.

One thing that really does bother me though is when they brought the series back with the 9th Dr, they pretty much kept the music the same, at least not that I could tell, but with Matt Smith, they modified the theme song.  Not much and if you’re not really paying attention you won’t really notice, but I have watched enough of the original and new series that it sticks out like a sore thumb.

It’s still the theme, but not.  Again, I guess it’ll grow on me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by Normanomicon on June 2, 2010.

 
