Need a boost?


If you’re like me and live in a house that has some seriously thick walls or block/brick interior, or you just want to boost the signal of your wi-fi, Make Online shows you how to take an old Linksys router and turn it into a repeater.

I’m going to be playing around with this one on my own as well and see what it comes up with.  It’s definitely a cheaper alternative than buying a whole new setup, especially if you’ve already got an old one laying around.

Head on over to Make and check it out.

Turn an old router into a repeater

I love it when the internet seems to magically anticipate your needs and provides the info you desire. Such was the case today when, just last night, I thought I needed to finally break down and figure out how to seriously boost the wi-fi range in our house (which is too unreliable on the other end of the house, non-existent in the basement). Via Steve Roberts and Facebook came a link to this how-to on Lifehacker.

~ by Normanomicon on June 16, 2010.

 
