Princeton MPLS Initial Thoughts


I was contacted a while back from someone from associated with Princeton Tec.  If you’re not familiar with Princeton Tec, they have been pioneering new technologies and building lights for more than three decades.

I was asked if I was interested in reviewing one of their products.  I said yes and I received the package today in the mail.

I’m going to do a full set of tests on it and put it in some real world situations under some harsh conditions.  I’ll then pass it along to a friend/neighbor of mine and let him have his way with it.  As a corrections officer, I’m sure he’ll be able to give a good beating.  We’ll then post the full review up for everyone to see.

The reason for this post however (other than to generate interest in it), is to give my initial thoughts on it.

The item that I received was the Princeton Tec MPLS.  From their website:

MODULAR PERSONAL LIGHTING SYSTEM

The MPLS is designed to be simple. It’s is a simple, reliable light source with multiple mounting options so that you can have light where you need it, when you need it. The MPLS is independent of the mounting bracket and comes with mounts for helmet, molle, weapon and also magnetic attachment. By having multiple mounts, you are able to quickly relocate the MPLS from one mounted position to another – helmet to molle to weapon and back. The MPLS is functional. The light is able to rotate in the bracket 45 degrees allowing for various light angles. It is also supported by a flexible boom providing for precise direction of light. A simple, fail safe switching system switches from low to high modes and comes in a variety of LED colors.

Off the bat, I like it.  It’s small, compact, VERY lightweight, fairly bright, easy to understand, easy to change positions and simple to attach to multiple points.

I’ve tried attaching it to MOLLE webbing, two different hats, a shirt, pants pockets, and was able to change the attachment all fairly quickly.

The device is extremely thin.  The actual flashlight casing isn’t much larger than the two lithium 2016 coin batteries that power it.

The light itself has two brightness settings as well as a momentary option.  The switch is easy to access and use with or without gloves on and it’s recessed enough to prevent accidental depression.

The illumination itself is a single LED that sits at the end of a flexible stem.  The stem itself seems to be fairly rugged and able to take a decent beating.

Overall, I think it’s going to be a decent little light.  I don’t see it as a primary light source, but as a secondary source it looks to be pretty nice. I could see this being used in law enforcement, military applications as well as the emergency medical community and firefighting, search and rescue, etc.

Keep an eye out for the total review and in the mean time, check out Princeton Tec and take a look at the rest of their product.

~ by Normanomicon on June 21, 2010.

3 Responses to “Princeton MPLS Initial Thoughts”

  1. Good review so far. I really want to try one of these. PT makes some great stuff.

    • Yeah, they’ve got some nice pieces. I’ll be putting it through about as hard a use that I can, heat, cold, rain, humidity, rough terain, etc. Probably about as rough a go through that I could put it into without going into combat with it.

      The other reviewer that is going to give it a go is a corrections officer, so I’m sure he’s going to be able to put it through a good bit.

      A good bulk of their stuff isn’t too badly priced. Not sure what these are going for, but so far, they look worth it.

    • Thought u might be interested. CONTEST – Altered Carbon by Richard K. Morgan – CONTEST: http://wp.me/pJfKm-Dg

Comments are closed.

 
