Tactical To Practical – Night Vision


This time around, the T2P review is on night vision.  Now, it’s not really the tactical version of it like you see the spies or military uses on TV and in the movies, but it’s still night vision all the same.  And it has been more of a tactical item than anything.

I picked the one that I have up at Wal-Mart.  It was originally around $120.00 and they had it on sale for $50.00  I saw they had a ‘Rollback’ on it and ended up only paying $29.99.

What kind of night vision can you get for $29.99 at Wal-Mart?  Well, it’s the Cyclops night vision for young adults.  It fits adults as well and believe it or not, it’s pretty darn good for being a ‘toy’.

It’s about Gen I or II quality, but it works for what I use it for (for a description of these, please see my earlier post on Night Vision Explained).

Instead of paying several hundred bucks on a decent set of NVG’s I picked this up and am able to easily identify ‘critters’ that are working to hit my garden.  As I have quite an extensive garden and have had some serious issues with critters in the past, I feel this is a justified reason to have it.

I then track them during the night and am able to follow them back to their holes.

I then either bait them during the day to dispatch of them, or set the traps for them.

I’m also able to allow my son to see the night in all it’s wonder that he normally wouldn’t see.  We’ve watched deer in the orchard as well as other small critters scurrying through the yard.  It’s also fun to just ‘play’.  🙂

Again, it’s more of a ‘kids toy’, but its the technology that I’m considering T2P for this one.

~ by Normanomicon on June 21, 2010.

 
