Skype on iPhone


Skype.

What can I say about it?  I like it, it’s fairly easy to use, allows you to make calls to cell phones, computers, kiosks (if the right configuration is done) and it allows you to video conference if you’re using a computer.

Well, now Skype is looking to hook up with Apple and try and get the Facetime camera to work with the Skype software.  This would be absolutely fantastic.

I’m a Skype user.  I have used it when I travel for work, when I travel for pleasure, etc.  It helps me keep in touch with the family by allowing my son to see me and allows me to see him.  He loves talking to me on the computer and seeing me, I think it’s great that he’s into it.  Of course, he’s into anything tech related, so…

Skype has also helped me keep in touch when there was no cell service and no phone around for MILES.  Over a weekend trip to a cabin, they had finally opted to install DSL there.  Cell signal was VERY spotty at best for only certain carriers and wasn’t reliable.

I hopped online, purchased $10.00 worth of Skype credit and was able to talk to my wife and son all weekend.  It wasn’t video calls, but my son was happy to at least be able to talk to me.

It also came in handy for the other guys at the cabin.  They were able to make phone calls that they needed to make and when it was all said and done, I had used probably over an hour and I still have around $9.00 worth of Skype to Land Line credit available.

Now, your mileage may vary with the Skype credit, so don’t take my word as gospel, but I’ll tell you.  Skype on the iPhone is great.  I used the phone as if it was a regular cell phone call and had no reception issues what so ever.

I’m excited to see the second camera on the iPhone and hope that they do open it up to work with things like Skype.  It makes sense to do it, let’s just see if they’ll let it happen.

Head on over to the Engadget site to see the whole story on the Skype/Apple collaboration.

We’re still playing the wait-and-see game when it comes to Skype on webOS  and Windows Phone 7, but it looks as if to-be iPhone 4 owners won’t have to wait long before Skype-based video chatting becomes a reality… if Skype has its way, that is. According to someone on the inside quoted over at Pocket-Lint, Skype “would welcome the opportunity to work with Apple,” specifically in reference to integrating FaceTime  capabilities into the firm’s own app.

~ by Normanomicon on July 6, 2010.

 
