Altoids tin fire starter


Who here remembers their time in cub scouts, boy scouts, summer camp, or just those times out in the woods trying to get a fire started with a couple of sticks?

I’ve tried it and took a LONG time trying to get it to work.  I’ve since modified my fire starting method to using a Swedish flint steel and cotton balls with petroleum jelly.  This works absolutely amazing, even in damp conditions.

But, here’s a twist on the old two stick method.  Jason Klass over at Gear Talk has found an interesting take on this via one of his readers Ryan Hussain:

This was sent to me by Gear Talk reader Ryan Hussain.  It’s a pretty unique idea and certainly looks like a fun DIY gear project.  I think it could also spark (yes, I know) ideas for other fire starter designs. Ryan just took rubbing 2 sticks together to a whole new level!  The pictures are pretty self explanatory so I’ll let them do the talking.  Thanks Ryan!

~ by Normanomicon on July 28, 2010.

 
