Philadelphia, some of my random thoughts


This past week I had the opportunity to do some work down in Philly.  While there, I tried to get in a little sight seeing.

I was able to walk around on South Street (interesting place to see), I also was able to walk along some of the side streets that were cobblestones and old architecture.  I think I enjoyed these more than I have anything else.  It also got me to wondering as I was walking along South Street, what would William Penn, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, etc say if they were alive today to see what Philadelphia has become?


Don’t get me wrong, I liked Philly for the historical value and the people I met there were absolutely great.  I had overall a good time.  But I can say I HATE driving and parking in Philly. As a matter of fact, if I have to go there on business again in the future (not that far fetched) I’m considering taking a train there and walking everywhere or taking a cab.

It’s just that some parts of the city I think our founding fathers would be greatly disappointed in.  Others they would be extremely happy to see still existed and thrived.  I honestly don’t know how they’d react.  For all I know, and actually for all anyone truly knows they were all party hounds and would revel in the debauchery of South Street and some of the clubs.

Guess the only thing to do is to actually invent time travel and bring them here to see how they react.  🙂

What do you think?  Do you think the founding fathers would approve of what has become of the former US Capital?  Or do you think they’d be disgusted?  Let me know.

~ by Normanomicon on August 17, 2010.

3 Responses to “Philadelphia, some of my random thoughts”

  1. Disappointed. Philly is also known as a very rough, violent city with a high crime rate.

    • I can agree with that part as well. While down there, there was a meth lab taken down. I didn’t see much of the crime or homeless though as I didn’t have to be around those areas that much.

  2. […] This post was Twitted by Technog33k […]

Comments are closed.

 
