Speck iPhone 4 case final thoughts


You may remember about 2 weeks ago I received my free iPhone 4 case, the Speck Pixel HD iPhone 4 case.

I’ve used it for over a week, modified it to try and fit my need, but In my honest opinion, I will not be using this case.

Let me run down the good things about the case first:

  • DURABLE
  • Nice feel
  • Great coverage of the phone itself
  • Phone won’t fall out of case
  • Snug fit, low profile
  • Extremely hard to damage case
  • Access to charging/synching port

Now let’s go over the things I don’t like about it:

  • Standby button hard to press
  • Headphone port not compatible with my adapter cable for external stereo
  • Extremely hard to modify

Now, you’ll notice that the good outweigh the bad.  But, two of the things that I utilize the most are the things that are on the bad part of the list.  The third is both good and bad, the hard to modify.  If I were able to modify the case easily to suit my needs, I’d still be using it.  But because it’s hard to modify, I won’t be using it.  Pressing the standby button to me is important, it allows me to quickly check the time and put the phone back to standby, it allows me to shut it off quick, it allows me to turn off the ringer on calls I’m not going to take.  With the case on, it was simply too tough to press.  I tried to modify it by removing the little nub, breaking a razor knife blade on it while modifying it impressed me about the case.  It’s DURABLE, it won’t scratch easy or break easy.  But once I got the nub out, I was now not able to even depress the button.  I tried opening up the hole a little more and I broke another blade trying to cut it open.  I got it to a point where I was able to press it, but just not good enough.

Next is the audio port on the top.  I use a cable to connect my phone into the radio in my car (to use the speakerphone, car audio, etc).  Well, the hole in the case isn’t quite large enough to utilize the external audio cable, so I tried to modify it, open it up a little.  No go, couldn’t get something strong enough down in there to open the hole in the case.

Don’t get me wrong.  If you’re using Apple cables, etc it’ll work great, but I’m paying enough for the product, I’m going to save on accessories where I can.  I’d rather pay $10.00 for an audio cable as opposed to $20.00.  Either way, those two things combined, makes the case pretty much unusable for me.  It’s a great case, but just not or me.  If I’d have paid for the case, I think I’d be a little upset about it.  Since it was free, I’m not too worried.

Well, there you have it.  My thoughts on the Speck Pixel HD iPhone 4 case.  As of a few days ago, I switched back to the iFrogs case and am currently looking for a new case that suits my needs.  I’ll let you know what I come up with.

~ by Normanomicon on September 14, 2010.

3 Responses to “Speck iPhone 4 case final thoughts”

  1. I am using the incase clear snap on and I really like it. I don’t know if you looked at that or not, but its really nice and it has access to the audio jack and its great for docking if you have a dock.

    • I looked at those, I’m not really a fan of the clear or semi-clear cases (colored see through cases).

      I’m looking basically for the Speck Pixel HD without the top piece to it. I’ve been thinking about just taking a mini-hack saw to it to open it up.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by TheNormanomicon, Norman White. Norman White said: Speck iPhone 4 case final thoughts: http://wp.me/pJfKm-Q2 […]

Comments are closed.

 
