Glow sticks at home


Geeks are Sexy has a great pointer to a NurdRage article and video of how to create your own glowsticks.

Now, I’m sure you’ve seen how expensive the glow sticks are.  The absolute cheapest i’ve found decent ones are for $0.50 a piece at the $1.00 store.  Normal shops have them for about a buck a piece.

I’m definitely going to be playing around with this and seeing what different things I can come up with.  And most likely next summer for our friends and family picnic will be making up a batch of ‘glow jars’ for the event.  I’ll let you know how it turns out and do a little video of it so you can see how it goes.

I’m SURE my son will get a HUGE kick out of this too.  🙂

NurdRage also has a bunch of cool videos.  I’m wondering if he puts out little booklets, etc of projects.

I’m going to have to see what I can find.  If he doesn’t, I may just be able to talk him into letting me do the ‘recipes/directions’ for him and posting them in a separate section on my site here.  Who knows.  Doesn’t hurt to ask.  🙂

~ by Normanomicon on November 21, 2010.

 
