Saving or Archiving multiple e-mails


I don’t know if you’re like me or not, but I tend to save a LOT of my e-mail, both personal as well as business (private and work).  Well, sometimes, it needs to be gone through and cleaned out or archived.  When I archive mail, I usually just end up moving the whole enchilada to an archive location and start fresh.  Then I end up restoring the whole thing when I want to reference something that’s been archived.

Then I tried the copying the e-mail to a text document method.  Well, that ends up getting tedious and I end up throwing it  to the wayside.

Well, Macworld has a few readers that have figured out an easier way of doing things.

Save text of multiple e-mails

by David Chartier, Macworld.com Dec 14, 2010 10:37 am

Mac OS X Hints reader deef wanted a way to copy multiple selected Mail messages into a text file (making those messages easier to archive and share). He figured out an AppleScript to do the job. Then (as so often happens on the Hints site) another reader came up with a variation on that tip—a simpler way to do much the same thing without the AppleScript (but also without the clarity of the text that script creates). Here’s both methods.

Of course, it’s on a Mac, and you’ve got to be using Mail, but hey, what do you want from a site called Macworld?

~ by Normanomicon on December 16, 2010.

 
