Topic 62: Facebook Applications I Love (via Chris Bogan)


Some time ago, Chris Bogan wrote a blog post about 100 Blog Topics I Hope YOU Write:

People often ask me how I come up with things to blog about, and I find the question strange, because my problem is the opposite. I have too much to blog about. Why? Because there’s a whole fast revolution rolling through, and right now – today – is our time to make it all work for us. If we’re going to show people how to use social media to drive meaningful conversations instead of being yet another marketing tool, we have to run out and educate at a break-neck pace, so we can bring more and more thought leaders into alignment with these big and not-so-big organizations who could use our help.

You can go down through all 100 topics if you like, and I think I’ll be posting at least a few based on the topics he presented.  Today’s post is going to be Topic #62: Facebook Applications I love.

And so begins the topic:

Well, that’s it for the Facebook Applications I love.

Thanks for reading.

What’s that?  You didn’t see anything?

That’s correct, you didn’t see any of the Facebook Applications I love because there aren’t really any.  Well, I lie.  There’s a few that I “like”.  I can do without them, but it would make life a little harder and to some extent, my FB profile a little more boring.  You see most of the FB applications out there are so bug ridden, spam ridden, malicious software infected (my opinion) and so ridiculous that I just can’t stand them.  As a matter of fact, when most of them pop up, I tend to block the application from my feed.

The ones that I do actually like and use are the following:

  • WordPress.com
  • Hundred Pushups
  • Trip Journal
  • iPhoto Uploader
  • RunKeeper

Let’s take a look at each one.

WordPress.com

This is a great plugin to use in you have a WordPress.com account or a WordPress blog.  It will allow you to automatically post to your FB page any post that you so desire. All you have to do is set up Publicize for your site, authenticate and allow the app and you’re done.  Easy peasy.  Saves a TON of time and BS to have to copy and paste stuff over to FB.

Hundred Pushups

If you’re not familiar with this program, it takes you from wherever you are currently at with pushups and as long as you stick with the program, will get you to doing 100 consecutive pushups.  I haven’t had the chance to do them recently and will probably be paying dearly for it when I start back into it tonight.  I know this is one of those ‘self-horn blowing’ apps, but hey, I think it’s worth it for me.

Trip Journal

This will take pictures, way points, comments, GPS coordinates, etc and put them all together in one neat Indiana Jones type presentation that you can share.  I’ve used it once or twice and have to say that when I do a trip, I’ll be using it in the future.  I’ve tried it with a short local trip with not much to see and can definitely see how it would work with a long and eventful trip.

iPhoto Uploader

This allows me to upload pictures from my home computer automatically and directly into albums I create on FaceBook.  It’s a nice little app that’s actually part of iPhoto for Mac.  Sorry Windows users, this one’s not available.

RunKeeper

Now this one you may be familiar with.  This app takes your local runs and logs them for all of whomever you choose to see them.  It gives a nice little map of where you ran, gives your stats, etc.  I’ve used it once or twice, but will definitely be using it more in the not too distant future.

Well, there you have it.  If you’d like more information on any of these apps, or why I personally just don’t like FB apps, drop me a line and let me know.

And Chris B if you’re reading this, Thank you for the ideas and I hope you approve.  🙂

~ by Normanomicon on January 3, 2011.

One Response to “Topic 62: Facebook Applications I Love (via Chris Bogan)”

  1. Nice article, very good commentary. Good analysis! Hope your new years went well 😀

    Sincerely,
    denny

Comments are closed.

 
