Blue-tooth Laser Virtual Keyboard


I’ve decided that I’m going to start posting a few ‘WishList’ items from a few of my favorite sites.  I figure what the heck, maybe I’ll get lucky and someone will gift them to me.  If they do, I’ll definitely do a write up on them and credit the person(s) that purchased them for me.

First up is the Blue-tooth Laser Virtual Keyboard from ThinkGeek.

This will project a full sized keyboard onto any flat surface and will connect to “Most Any” blue-tooth enabled devices.  They say that it won’t work with the iPhone or iPad, but it will work with the Mac’s. I would be able to attempt to connect it to the iPhone, but if I wanted to test with the iPad, I’d have to get one first.  But that’s another wishlist item for another day.  🙂  Either way, there is a caveat to the Mac OS:

Important Mac OS Note:
We were able to get the Blue-tooth Virtual Laser Keyboard to work with Mac OS X using the built-in blue-tooth support in the OS. However, there is no driver software for Mac included with the keyboard and therefore no way to set the keyboard preferences such as brightness, key-repeat rate and sensitivity. You have been warned!

This BTLVK runs $149.99 from ThinkGeek and comes with everything needed to set it up and run it.  All you need to do is provide the flat surface and most likely a low light area to use it in.  I know this may not be all that everyone expects it to be, and I really kind of expect it to be a bit lame.  I know at least this way, if it’s ok, I’ll be good, if it really does deliver the full effect, I’ll be blown away.  I’m a realist.  Sort of…

Here’s a little write up from ThinkGeek:

Remember when you were promised all those amazing future tech innovations? Just around the corner was supposed to be a shining technology utopia with flying cars, personal space travel to distant galaxies, and bio-implantable cell phones. It’s almost disappointing enough to make you sit at home and watch old episodes of “Space 1999”.

Don’t lose hope! An amazing glimpse of this promised future has just arrived at ThinkGeek in the form of the Blue-tooth Laser Virtual Keyboard. This tiny device laser-projects a keyboard on any flat surface… you can then type away accompanied by simulated key click sounds.

The features it boasts are:

  • Connects to PDAs Smartphones and Computers using Blue-tooth
  • Projects a full size keyboard onto any flat surface
  • Allows the convenience of regular keyboard typing in a tiny form factor
  • Rechargeable battery lasts for 120 minutes of continuous typing
  • Tiny size only 3.5 inches high
  • Compatible with PalmOS 5, PocketPC 2003, Windows Smartphone, Symbian OS, and Windows 2000/XP. Limited Mac OSX Support.

Take a look at some of the pictures provided.  And if you’re interested in gifting it to me, hit me up for my mailing address.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by Normanomicon on January 5, 2011.

 
