Mac App Store


As you may or may not know, the Mac App Store has opened yesterday (6 January, 2011).

I updated my Mac and bip bop boom, there it was on the bottom of the screen right beside iTunes.

All I had to do was click, log in and start downloading, right?  Wrong.

I clicked to open it.  That was easy enough.  I was presented with a very familiar look, similar in a lot of ways to the iTunes app store for iPad and iPhone.

I figured, what the heck, let’s start downloading.  I logged in, found and downloaded (or tried to) my first app.  Twitter.  Clicked on the Twitter buy button (free by the way) and was presented with an error code of “We could not complete your App Store request. An unknown error occurred (100).”  I hit the web and found a few suggestions:

  • restart the computer
  • log out and close the app store, then restart it
  • open Safari, clear all the Apple related cookies, restart the computer and restart

It was finally removing all of the Apple related cookies in Safari and restarting the computer that actually worked.  Once I did that, I was easily able to download apps.

Like I said, the first one I downloaded and tried out was Twitter.  Once I clicked on the purchase button, it downloaded in a few seconds and appeared both in my Apps directory as well as on my dock.

I opened the app and it looks pretty decent.  It opened quickly, easy to use, click, done.  Decent features, I think it’s better actually than using the web interface.

There’s a lot of stuff up in the App store as it is.  They have it separated by categories, etc, same as with the regular App store.  They have:

  • Business
  • Developer Tools
  • Education
  • Entertainment
  • Finance
  • Games
  • Graphics & Design
  • Health & Fitness
  • Lifestyle
  • Medical
  • Music
  • News
  • Photography
  • Productivity
  • Reference
  • Social Networking
  • Sports
  • Travel
  • Utilities
  • Video
  • Weather

There’s some decent stuff in there and I’ve seen (so far) prices ranging from free to $599.99.  I’m sure there’s more expensive stuff in there and I’m sure there’s going to be a “I’m so rich I can afford an app that costs $1,000.00” app, but that’s to be seen.

They do have stuff like aperture 3, iphoto, pages, imovie, keynote, garage band, sketchbook pro, apple remote desktop.  All apps that you would have to have purchased either through Apple previously, or actually in CD/DVD form.  And if you accidentally delete the app, guess what, you can re-download it at no extra cost.

It’ll also check for updates as needed and you can update the app rather than having to worry about updating large software packages.

I think that a while back Microsoft tried to do something like this with their ‘Live’ suite of tools, but they didn’t quite take off (at least not in my opinion).  Google tried to do a ‘cloud’ app suite and it’s doing ok, but I think overall, the Mac App store will do quite well.  I just hope that they don’t eliminate the CD/DVD installation option all together.

Let me know what you think of it (if you’re using it) and what apps you’re using.

~ by Normanomicon on January 7, 2011.

One Response to “Mac App Store”

  1. I downloaded the OS X update last night and tried the store out. But while the update was downloading and installing, I was on my iPhone and updated an app on my iPhone. When I did this, it asked me to agree to a new terms of service agreement. After I agreed, the update to the iPhone app finished installing.

    Back to the App Store. I launched the App Store and downloaded the Twitter app with no problems. I think this may be because I had agreed to the ToS on the iPhone. I think I read this over on LifeHacker.com.

    I think this is a nice way to organize your FUTURE apps and not have a bunch of software boxes sitting around. Plus, if/when you get a new Mac or if you need to do a clean install of OS X, this will really make it simple to re-install all of your apps. Of course, this does not help with your currently purchased apps that you have installed.

Comments are closed.

 
