Top Ten Legal Drugs Linked to Violence (via TIME Healthland)


Let me tell you. When I started to read down this list, I was a little worried that some of the meds that I had been on were on it. Then as I went down through the only thing that I had bee prescribed was Oxycontin and that wasn’t on the top 10 list.

I do remember (vaguely) my oxy run. It was when I had a problem with the nerves in my neck and shoulder. My doctor had prescribed around 5 different drugs, including morphine (while I was in the ER), and finally the only thing that got rid of the pain was a combination of Oxycontin and Neurontin. Both of those combined put me in a state that I ended up loosing a weekend. I had conversations with people and had absolutely no idea that I spoke to them. My wife had gone shopping, out to lunch with her sisters and mom, etc. I had no idea if she was there or not. I was propped up on the sofa with a drink, my meds and the remote and the whole time I would sit there and drool on myself if I wasn’t careful. I don’t remember a thing from that weekend. But I can say that I was in no pain. Probably because I was too whacked out of my mind to realize I was in pain.

I could understand why someone would get addicted to pain killers, or even other meds that gave them a euphoric state. Especially if they were in a bad spot. Which is one thing that doctors have to continually monitor their patients for. On top of trying to get rid of pain, keep their patients alive, dodge malpractice suits, they also have to worry about either turning their patients into drug addicts or worse. I take my hat off to those that monitor it as well as they do. My doctor made sure he had a close eye on my progression and verified that there was a limited supply. If I needed more, he made me come in to make sure things were copacetic.

It’s one thing to need them for pain. It’s another to ‘think’ you need them for pain or to be in a spot where it just makes it easier to deal with life. In a way it’s like alcohol. Just another thing to worry about.

Head on over to take a look at the whole list.

When people consider the connections between drugs and violence, what typically comes to mind are illegal drugs like crack cocaine. However, certain medications — most notably, some antidepressants like Prozac — have also been linked to increase risk for violent, even homicidal behavior. A new study from the Institute for Safe Medication Practices published in the journal PloS One and based on data from the FDA’s Adverse Event Reporting System ha … Read More

via TIME Healthland

~ by Normanomicon on January 10, 2011.

 
