I PRAY I get a live voice phone call like this…


“A caller reported she received an automated phone call telling her that her computer and IP address had been noted as having visited the Wikileaks site, and that there were grave consequences for this, including a $250,000 or $25,000 fine, perhaps imprisonment. It left an option for leaving a message as to how she was going to handle this and the fine payment.”

Thanks to BoingBoing for finding this one.

Apparently, there’s a new phone scam going around and I hope I get hit up for it.  Someone calls, says you visited wikileaks and you’re going to get fined and/or imprisoned.

Well, bring it. If I do get hit with a voice mail such as this, I’ll leave them a nice ‘worried’ voice mail to call me back so I can ‘arrange to have the fine paid for’ and to ‘work this issue out’.

I’ll then make sure and get all my ducks in a row, and turn the tables on them.  See what they can provide me, such as when, where, what’s my IP address, what’s my computer address, stuff like that.  Get some additional information and keep them on the line as long as possible.  They may be calling from a VOIP number, but I might get lucky.  😉

Either way, I’ll waste their time at the least and be able to provide some good details to the authorities at the most.

Head on over to the Better Business Bureau for the full story:

It has been brought to your regional BBB’s attention via the Central and Eastern KY BBB that there is a Wikileaks automated phone scam circulating. Thanks to that BBB for this warning!

Your regional BBB contacted its regional FBI and FTC offices to gain further insight. Verdict? This is a first we’ve all heard of this phone scam angle, but it doesn’t surprise us!

The FBI clarified that this scam relies, like all vishing scam scenarios, on VOIP, rendering anyone’s Caller ID essentially meaningless. (So, don’t think that you are receiving a call from the number reflected on your Caller ID in this type of scam. It is spoofed, fake, made up.)

States Robert Schroeder, Northwest Regional Director of the Federal Trade Commission, “Consumers who get phone calls from strangers need to keep their guard up, especially when the caller makes threats based on bogus accusations – that the consumer has failed to pay an old debt, or has committed some kind of crime, and has to pay up immediately. Insist on a written statement of what you owe. Don’t pay it if it’s fake. Don’t provide your bank account, credit card, or social security number. And report the threat to the FTC and your state attorney general -and, if it’s a threat of personal harm, call the police.”

~ by Normanomicon on January 22, 2011.

One Response to “I PRAY I get a live voice phone call like this…”

  1. […] “A caller reported she received an automated phone call telling her that her computer and IP address had been noted as having visited the Wikileaks site, and that there were grave consequences for this, including a $250,000 or $25,000 fine, perhaps imprisonment. It left an option for leaving a message as to how she was going to handle this and the fine payment.” Thanks to BoingBoing for finding this one. Apparently, there’s a new phone scam going … Read More […]

Comments are closed.

 
