Infinity Power. So stupid no one thought of it…


Thanks to Geeks Are Sexy, I think I just found my way to fortune.

Take a look at this picture:

Now think about it.  You’re on the go, you need to recharge your cell phone, but only have an external battery pack to do it with.  You connect it, it charges and you’re good to go.

Well, why not do that with a laptop?  Only instead of using an external power pack, use the laptops USB port.  Using a cable similar to that above (you’d need to throw in a power converter somewhere to get the proper amps/voltage) you may be able to do it.  Think of it.  The days of being tethered to a wall socket to provide power may be over.  Well not over, but limited at least.

I know that you’d have some power loss, it’s expected.  But has this idea seemed so stupid that no one has actually thought of it?

I could actually see someone coming out with something like this and charging like 200 or 300 bucks for it.  I could also see batteries exploding in a nice shower of electronic sparks and severe burns.  That’s something that would have to be worked out, such as a cooler to attach  to the laptop in order to reduce the heat coming off of the thing.  But you could pack all of that into a nice neat little under laptop package similar to this:

Please excuse the crudeness of my drawing.  🙂

Now that I said this, someone’s going to take what I’ve said, come up with a way to do it and make billions off of my idea.  😦  Oh well, there goes my fortune.

Either way, if you do make any money off of it, could you at least throw me a few hundred thousand?  I’m not asking for much.

In the mean time, I’ll have to play around with one of my older laptops and see if I can’t design something that would work.  Maybe figure out if the charge in the battery would even be strong enough (or the power coming out of the USB port strong enough to boost) and what the consequences of doing this would be.  Another drawback may be that the battery itself would die out rather quickly.  Definitely have to do more research.

Now, where’s that soldering iron and old college electronics engineering textbook I had laying around…

~ by Normanomicon on January 26, 2011.

 
