Caramelize Onions Food Hack


Over at lifehacker, they have an excellent article from The Food Lab about how to caramelize onions in less time than you’d think.

I love caramelized onions.  On burgers, in soup, with pierogies…One of the best burgers on the planet, (if you ask my opinion) The Coney Island Lunch Coney Island burger, has caramelized onions on it.  I can still remember the taste of them.  My parents first introduced me to them when I was little.  We’d go up home, visit family, head over to Knoebels Groves and then stop by Coney Island Lunch on the way home.  Up until several months ago, I hadn’t had a Coney Island burger in at least 15 years.  Then while up there on some family business, decided to track the place down.  I can still remember that burger with those onions…ok, I’m going to stop right here as I’m starting to get hungry for them and I don’t feel like taking an hour drive for a $2.00 burger.  🙂

Now, I know how to caramelize onions, I just never actually did it a lot.  I’ve also tried the method they mention in the article to help bring out the sweet, but never actually made a semi-caramel before adding the onions.  I had sauteed the onions, but then added some sugar to them and stopped the cooking process before allowing them to fully caramelize.  Thinking about it now after reading the article they say that a yellow onion is one of the better to use.  I’m just wondering how it would work with a naturally sweet onion like a Vidalia onion.

I think I’m going to try this in the not too distant future as well as making the french onion dip they talk about.

I also have a feeling that I’m going to be pulling more recipies from this site as well.

Head on over to read the full article:

The most obvious way to do this is to increase the amount of sugar we start with. The sugars in onions are glucose, fructose, and sucrose (a combination of one glucose and one fructose molecule)— exactly the same as the caramelization products of table sugar. Indeed, I found that adding just a touch of table sugar to the onions increased sweetness without affecting the overall flavor profile of the finished product.

On the other hand, it didn’t speed things up at all the way I wanted it to. But what if I gave the caramelization a kick-start by cooking the sugar on its own before adding the onions?

On another note, a few of the things that I’ve read on the site so far reminds me a lot of The Food Networks Alton Brown and his show Good Eats:

Pop culture, comedy, and plain good eating: Host Alton Brown explores the origins of ingredients, decodes culinary customs and presents food and equipment trends. Punctuated by unusual interludes, simple preparations and unconventional discussions, he’ll bring you food in its finest and funniest form.

~ by Normanomicon on February 3, 2011.

 
