Verizon and AT&T iPhone Differences


I was able to get my hands on a Verizon iPhone for a brief amount of time and I noted some differences in it.

First of was the weight.  It ‘felt’ heavier.  Don’t know if it’s jut my perception or what, but I even did it with my eyes closed and a ‘blind’ weight test and it still felt heavier.

Next was the size.  I think it’s just a little thicker, but again, that could just be my perception.

What WASN’T perception though was some of the features.

I couldn’t find the following settings with the phone:

  • Call Forwarding
  • Call Waiting
  • Caller ID
  • Call Hold

This isn’t my imagination and I found out today that there are differences.  Over at iPhone Therefore I blog, I found an article on what is the difference between the AT&T and Verizon iPhones:

We knew there were differences between the two phones, but some haven’t received as much attention as others.

For example, you can’t surf the web and talk at the same time on an iPhone on Verizon/any CDMA phone like you can on AT&T/GSM.
But for things like call waiting and call forwarding and caller ID, which we’ve all become used to toggling if needed in the menu settings, well, those things require a little more work on a CDMA phone.

They ultimately lead to the actual Apple iPhone features page.

This page runs down what each of them do/doesn’t do.  Things such as:

  • Call forwarding
  • Call waiting
  • Caller ID
  • Conference calls
  • Inserting pauses when dialing
  • Hold
  • Enabling a SIM PIN
  • Importing SIM contacts
  • Selecting a carrier network or editing an APN
  • Contacts or phone numbers longer than 7 digits

It also goes on to say some of the things that you can’t do such as the SIM contacts (no sim card), which also means you can’t go over seas, pop a new SIM card in and go to town.  This is a HUGE disadvantage.  But as is Verizon’s way, they chose not to utilize the SIM technology.

But overall, I’m happy that I’ve got an AT&T iPhone as it does seem to be able to do more easier as well as just being able to do more all together.  I know that part of me is gloating over Verizon as I can’t stand them.  But overall, I’m just not surprised.  I’m dissapointed for the people who won’t switch over to AT&T or can’t switch over for the iPhone, but I am happy that there is some competition out there now for AT&T which may lead to better deals on cellular plans.

We’ll have to wait and see.

~ by Normanomicon on February 17, 2011.

One Response to “Verizon and AT&T iPhone Differences”

  1. i love it

Comments are closed.

 
