Goodbye Netflix, Hello Amazon Streaming…


Am I actually saying goodbye Netflix?

I may be.  It was just announced today on Amazon.com that they are opening up the new Amazon Streaming player for all Amazon Prime members.

I’m definitely not going to cancel Netflix just yet.  Not till I can sit down and compare what all I’m getting with the Amazon Streaming.  I’m already paying $79.00 a year for Amazon Prime (which is covered by my Amazon Associates account), and this is just a bonus.  With the $79.00 annual price for Amazon Prime, I get FREE two day shipping on almost everything.  And I’ve got to say that at least half the stuff I ordered has shown up the next day.

Currently, they’ve got both TV and Movies programs and they have a little over 41,000 titles.  As far as I’m aware, as long as you’ve got Prime, they’re all free.

I do see Netflix still being the prime account for several reasons right now for lots of people.  If you don’t already have a Prime account, you’ll be shelling out $80.00 a year.  For Netflix, you’ll be paying $120.00 a year for the streamin + 1 DVD at a time service and around $100 a year for just streaming.  Big difference is you can pay on a monthly basis.  Amazon Prime is definitely cheaper here, but with Netflix, it’s a month by month basis.  You can cancel at any time and not pay a termination fee.  With Amazon Prime, it’s a once a year expense.

If I were Netflix, to combat this, I’d offer up a yearly option to pay and give a discount to get it down as close to $80.00 a year as possible.  Another thing that Netflix has going for it is the way it integrates in just about everything.  There’s a Wii app, it’s in the Xbox 360, Sony PS3, just about every internet enabled Blue Ray and TV has the option.  And don’t forget about the iPhone, iPad and other mobile device apps out there.

It’ll take a while for Amazon to catch up, but hey, they’ve already got a HUGE base following, so what’s the risk?

I’ll keep you appraised as soon as I can get a chance to review the Amazon Prime Streaming service and how it stacks up to Netflix as far as movie availability, etc.

~ by Normanomicon on February 22, 2011.

One Response to “Goodbye Netflix, Hello Amazon Streaming…”

  1. […] It seems as though they’ve started with a ‘base’ and will be expanding exponentially.  Hopefully, they’ll be able to give Netflix a run for their money.  If they can supply streaming on par and/or better then Netflix, I definitely will be dropping them.  But for now, I’ll still keep Netfilx. Am I actually saying goodbye Netflix? I may be.  It was just announced today on Amazon.com that they are opening up the new Amazon Streaming player for all Amazon Prime members. I’m definitely not going to cancel Netflix just yet.  Not till I can sit down and compare what all I’m getting with the Amazon Streaming.  I’m already paying $79.00 a year for Amazon Prime (which is covered by my Amazon Associates account), and this is just a bonus.  With … Read More […]

Comments are closed.

 
