Remembering Randy


In the past week, we have all heard about the death of Osama Bin Laden, the mastermind behind the 9/11 attacks and generally evil incarnate.

Well, there was a passing of someone who impacts me more deeply than Osama.

His name is Randy Paules and was a good friend to me and was going to marry another of my good friends Trish.  She’s like my little sister.  She introduced Randy to me and we became almost instant friends.  Both of us having the same sick sense of humor and similar outlooks on life.

Randy always had that grin on his face and his laugh was infectious.  He was always looking to keep things upbeat, even when the situation was less than ideal.  He worked hard and always, always made sure his friends were taken care of.  Never a dull moment when he was around.

His birthday was coming up and I was looking forward to help him celebrate it as well as seeing them again at my Birthday and watching both he and Trish getting married in November.  They were a perfect couple.  The last time we spoke, he had said how much he loved Trish and what she meant to him.

I don’t know how Trish is keeping it together, I don’t think I’d be able to.  She’s a trooper, she’s strong and I know she’ll be able to pull through this.  She’s got a lot of support both friends and family.  The past few days have been hard on her and I think today is probably going to be the hardest, but we’ll all be there for her.

I’m sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet Randy’s family before now, and I still haven’t met all of his family.  I met his mother and she seems like a wonderful person.  My heart goes out to all of them.  And I offer that if they need anything to please let me know.

I don’t know all the details of the reason behind the accident, but he was driving along Strausburg Pike when he lost control of his car.  He passed away at the scene of the accident.

It’s always so hard to lose someone and it’s harder still when they’ve got so much ahead of them and so many people who care for and love them.

You’re going to be missed Randy.  My heart, thoughts and prayers go out to the family and if there’s anything that you need, don’t hesitate to get in touch with me.

Randall T. Paules

Randall T. Paules, 29, of Lancaster, passed away unexpectedly on Monday, May 2, 2011 due to injuries sustained in an automobile accident. He was born in Lancaster and was the son of Christine M. (Oleksa) Eshelman, wife of Vincent R. II, and Thomas F. Paules, husband of Melanie. Randy was recently engaged to Trischia L. Singer.

He was of the Catholic faith.

Randy graduated from Hempfield High School in 2000 and Arizona State University in 2004 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Justice and Philosophy. He also graduated from Penn State University with an Associate’s Degree in Nanotechnology.

Randy was a volleyball player throughout his life, playing on the Hempfield Varsity team, ASU Club Team, and Damon’s Club team. He coached the Girls Varsity Volleyball Team at Conestoga Valley High School and established the Girls Conestoga Valley High School Crush Club team.

Randy was a math teaching assistant at Conestoga Valley High School and a server at the Log Cabin Restaurant.

He was a Philadelphia Phillies and Eagles fan.

Surviving in addition to his fiancée and parents is a sister, Janelle C. Paules, of Lancaster; half-sister, Hallie Paules, of Gilbertsville; stepsister, Jessica Heil, wife of Tom; two nephews, Milo and Alexander; a niece, Olivia; paternal grandmother, Virginia Gambler; and step-grandparents, Neil and Barbara Kurz. He was preceded in death by maternal grandparents, Margaret and John Oleksa, and a paternal grandfather, Gerald Paules.

Relatives and friends are respectfully invited to attend the funeral service to Honor Randy’s Life on Saturday, May 7, 2011 at the Charles F. Snyder Jr. Funeral Home & Crematory, 3110 Lititz Pk., Lititz, PA 17543, at 11:30 a.m. with the Rev. Msgr. Richard A. Youtz officiating. A visitation will be held on Friday evening from 6-9 p.m. and again on Saturday from 10-11:30 a.m. at Snyder’s.

In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions in Randy’s memory may be made to CV Girls Volleyball Booster Club, made payable to CVSD, Attn: Business Office, 2110 Horseshoe Road, Lancaster, PA 17601 OR Hempfield Volleyball Booster Club, Attn: Athletic Director, Hempfield High School, 200 Stanley Ave., Landisville, PA 17538.

To send the family an online condolence, please visit

SnyderFuneralHome.com

Charles F. Snyder Jr.

Funeral Home & Crematory

717-560-5100

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Death is nothing at all
I have only slipped away into the next room
I am I, and you are you.
Whatever we were to each other
That we still are.

Call me by my old familiar name
Speak to me in the easy way which you always used
Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow.
Laugh as we always laughed at the little jokes
We enjoyed together.

Play, smile, think of me, pray for me,
Let my name be ever the household word that
It always was.

Let it be spoken without effort,
Without the trace of a shadow on it.
Life means all that it ever meant
It is the same as it ever was
There is absolutely unbroken continuity.

Why should I be out of mind because I am
Out of sight? I am but waiting for you
For an interval
Somewhere very near
Just around the corner .
All is well.

Canon Henry Scott Holland (1847-1918)

Rest in peace Randy, you will be sorely missed.

~ by Normanomicon on May 7, 2011.

 
