Sattelite Receiver Cantenna


I’ve been thinking for some time now that I wanted to start playing around more with the cantenna’s and since one of my neighbors was kind enough to donate his old mini-satelite dish to the cause, I thought I’d go ahead and make a super cantenna.  Or at least try it out.

I’m still mulling over the completed details (and if I want to mount it to a vehicle or not for some SERIOUS war driving) but basically, it’s going to take one of these (my son’s favorite snack):

Some of this:

One of these (donated by the neighbor):

Put it all together and get this:

One super cantenna that will pull wi-fi from the other side of the planet. (not really, but you get the idea).  🙂

Either way, I’ll be detailing the entire build including my success and/or failure and when completed, I’ll post a detaild PDF of how to make your own (if it works). And if not, it’ll at least be something fun for my son and I to do together.

I may even try to incorporate something additional into it just for the heck of it if it works. (wi-fi router, firewall, IDS/IPS, etc).

Anywho, stay tuned for more information.

~ by Normanomicon on July 5, 2011.

 
