CERN Breaks the speed of light…


Oh boy…now we’ve gone and done it.  We are now walking in dangerous alternate universe waters…

Wait, what?  You don’t know what I’m talking about?

Well, if you’ve been living under a rock for the last few days, scientists at CERN have found particles that travel faster than the speed of light.

Photo By ALAMY

It ain’t over till the LHC says so, which is why researchers at CERN are opening up their most recent OPERA experiment to the scientific community before officially releasing its findings. Why, you ask? Because the experiment could shatter one of the fundamentals of physics — Einstein’s theory of special relativity, which says nothing in the universe can travel faster than the speed of light. While studying neutrino oscillations — where particles shift from one type of subatomic particle (muon-neutrinos) to another (tau-neutrinos) — scientists clocked a beam of muon-neutrinos outpacing the aforesaid ray of light by 60 nanoseconds. Calling the result “crazy,” lead scientist Antonio Ereditato published the findings online, hoping to attract the attention of others who might shed some light on what it all means.

Ok, now that you’re up to speed on what I’m talking about, let me give a few thoughts here.

First off, Einstein came up with something called the Special Relativity Theory:

Albert Einstein (1905) cleverly combined the work of Faraday, Maxwell and Lorentz to propose the ‘Theory of Special Relativity’ which described the effects of relative Motion (inertial or non-accelerated) on the properties of matter. His famous postulate being that the laws of Nature (mechanics and electrodynamics) are the same for all observers irrespective of their motion (non-accelerated), which leads to the further postulate that the velocity of light must always be measured to be the same irrespective of motion.

On Truth and Reality

In order to fully describe and understand it, you’d need to study Einstein, Farady, Maxwell, Lorentz and Physics (quantum, mechanical, etc) and trust me, I don’t have the time to go too deep into any of those, so I’ll put it as simple as I can without REALLY understanding.  (SOMEONE PLEASE correct me if I’m wrong here):

Basically, the faster you go and the closer to the speed of light you get, the slower you actually physically go.

I think that’s it in a nutshell.  Basically it’s physically impossible to go faster than the speed of light according to physics.  But, it looks as though Einstein and all of the other founders and leaders in physics will be rolling over in their graves if this is actually true and not a fluke.

Theoretically if you can move faster than the speed of light, you would ‘POSSIBLY’ be able to navigate backward in time, forward in time, etc.  But I’m not going to definitely say yes or no to those.  My original thought was:

WOW, that means that going to the other side of the country would take seconds in stead of hours.  WOOHOO, Vegas here I come.

But then reality set in and I realized how much FTL travel would cost me and realized I’d never be able to do it in my lifetime.  Which is when the other part of the equation kicked in and I thought:

Wait, I’ll just leave a note for Mitchell or my grand kids to come back in time when it’s figured out and get me a list of all the rock bottom stocks and investments that are going to skyrocket over the next few years.  Plus the super bowl winners for the next few years, etc.  Then invest everything I’ve got into those.  I’ll have the money in no time at all.

Then I realized that “IF” this whole CERN thing were true, and “IF” time travel ever does occur before the second coming, and “IF” I were able to convince my future relatives to come back in time, it would end up creating a paradox and I’d have already done it.  So since I haven’t received word from the future, there are several things I can think of that happened:

  • This whole CERN thing is a load or a hoax or an accident
  • My family line dies off
  • The message never get’s through
  • My family thinks I’m a loon and never acts on it
  • I’ve created an alternate time line (or two) and other future me’s are already living high on the hog

Personally, in all reality though, I hope it’s true.  Not so much for the ‘possible’ time travel thing, but for the possibility of being able to travel and explore other planets within a more reasonable amount of time.  Instead of taking months/years to get somewhere in outer space, it would take days/weeks.

If the technology were able to be harnessed and brought into a more reasonable cost and shrunk down into a more manageable size, we may be able to some day put this technology into jets, fighters, other aircraft of all kinds however; in order to utilize it in ANY way shape or form, we’d have to figure out the whole problem of accelleration and deceleration.  Yeah, gravity and mass is a b***h.

In other words, we’d have to figure out inertial dampeners that would be able to take the force of the speeds and spread them out so we don’t end up as a red mist and a wall of paste when we try to use the ‘new FTL drives’.

If you’ve ever watched ANY amount of Star Trek, you realize what an inertial dampener is, but for those that don’t know:

[Source Memory Alpha, The Star Trek Wiki]

Inertial dampers were a system used on almost all starships to counter the effects of rapid acceleration and deceleration of a starship by sustaining and absorbing the natural inertia of a vessel as it moved through space or if it was under attack from another vessel.

Another way this could revolutionize things is in the way we communicate.  It would help speed up the way information was transmitted from one place to another.  Just imagine the internet speeds you’d be able to get…  😉

Anywho, that’s my whole two cents worth here, what do you think of it?

Am I WAY off my rocker, or is there something amongst all this jibberish of mine?

Let me know in the comments.

~ by Normanomicon on September 23, 2011.

 
