Shiny New WordPress Admin Bar


If you’re a WordPress user, you probably already know about this, but I’ll shoot it out there still for anyone who’s not aware of it, or is thinking about switching over to WordPress (I really think you should if you’re considering it).

WordPress.com has a new Admin Bar at the top of the screen.  In 3 words “I like it”.  It’s small, efficient, doesn’t take up a lot of room, gives everything in drop down boxes and out of the way till you need it.

I am NOT however the biggest fan of some of the changes that came with this.  Such as quickpress.  Quickpress is a simple quick and easy way to post a picture or post about something from the dashboard (so to speak).  Basically you get a the option of using a picture or text.  You get to add some tags and then post it.  You’re not able to save a draft or schedule it, but it would be nice if you’d be able to save the draft of something to work on later.  It’s still keeping it simple, but small.  I never really used it, but it used to be (if I’m not mistaken) a drop down or option on the Admin Bar.  I’m still most likely not going to use it, but that’s my choice.  I CAN however see where it would be very useful for the photographer, the ‘quick poster’, etc.  But it’s just not for me.

Now, here’s the part that I REALLY don’t like.  You’re not really able to re-blog something easily any more however; the WordPress team is aware of that and are currently working on a solution.

If you hover over the WordPress.com logo in the left corner, you’ll see the following quick links:

Lastly, you may have noticed that you’re no longer able to reblog a post after clicking the Like button. Don’t worry — we’re cooking up some reblogging improvements that you’ll have access to very soon. Stay tuned!

You see, this is why I like WordPress and the team behind it so much.  They may break something, but they’ll TELL you they broke something and are already working to fix it.  Tell me how many other companies out there are going to come right out the gates and say, “hey look, shiny new things, but we broke something and are working to fix it already”.  No, Most companies will say “Hey look, shiny new things”, then when they start getting complaints, they’ll say “Oh, really, we didn’t notice that, we’ll get working on it right away” or some other silly nonsense.  But I digress…

Overall though, I like the new look.  And I’m happy to see that the WordPress team is doing things for the ‘free’ users as well as pushing and making progress with things from the paid side of things and the developers.

Again, I can’t stress enough how easy WordPress is to use.  The configuration of the free to use site is fantastic, but the self hosted and developer side of the house is simply FANTASTIC from what I’ve heard.  The way things are going, I may just end up moving over to that side.  Depending on how popular this site becomes and if I can make a go of it as a source of income.

Anywho, head over and check out the full post about the new Admin Bar:

Remember your old admin bar (displayed at the top of your screen while you’re logged in to WordPress.com)? Up until today, it’s looked something like this while viewing an individual post:

But we wanted to make it easier for your visitors to interact with you via Likes and Follows, so we’ve cleaned it up a bit. Now it looks like this:

Better, right!? Now on the right hand side of the admin bar where your Gravatar is displayed, you have easy access to your user profile, all the blogs you can contribute to, and all the comments you’ve made across WordPress.com:

~ by Normanomicon on September 23, 2011.

 
