lower calorie blueberry, white chocolate chip oatmeal cookies


I was hungry for cookies.  No, I was REALLY hungry for a home made type soft cookie.

  • We had no cookie mix.
  • We had no cookie dough.
  • We had no milk.
  • We had no real sugar.
  • We had no butter.
  • I wasn’t about to go shopping.

But we had oatmeal, blueberries, white chocolate chips, confectioners sugar, 0 calorie liquid butter, 0 calorie equal and additional components for this recipe.

I headed on over to Recipe.com to get the basic cookie recipe and I went from there.

The reason I’m calling it lower calorie is because instead of sugar I used equal (supposedly 0 calorie) and liquid butter (supposedly 0 calorie).

Here’s the recipe I used from Recipe.com:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup  butter, softened
  • 1 cup  packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup  granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp.  baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp.  baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp.  ground cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp.  ground cloves (optional)
  • 2   eggs
  • 1 tsp.  vanilla
  • 1-3/4 cups  all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups  rolled oats

Directions

1 Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and, if desired, cinnamon and cloves. Beat until combined, scraping side of bowl occasionally. Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Using a wooden spoon, stir in any remaining flour. Stir in rolled oats.

2 Drop dough by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are golden. Let stand on cookie sheets for 1 minute. Transfer to wire racks and let cool. Makes about 48 cookies.

Now, I didn’t have quite as much brown sugar as I thought we did, but I already started adding ingredients to the butter before I realized I didn’t have enough.  So, I just used what I had.  Like I said previously I didn’t have real butter so I used the 0 calorie ‘spray’ butter.  But next time if I do this I’ll know to tone back the amount by probably an 8th cup.

Since I didn’t have enough brown sugar, I kind of forgot to modify the sugar to match what I was missing so I probably should have put more in.  And I’m thinking maybe a ‘touch’ less baking powder.

What I did put in extra were the blueberries and white chocolate chips.

I let them in the oven for an extra five minutes because they were still a little mushy after the 10 minutes of required baking and I think they turned out pretty good overall.  I compensated for the lack of sweetness after they came out of the oven by sprinkling them with extra Equal and added the confectioners sugar for a little additional sweet.

Overall, good.  Nice and soft, and making me wish I had a nice tall glass of milk to go with them.

No, they didn’t come out looking like the Recipe.com picture, but I think they look ok for not having all the actual ingredients and making do with what I had.

I also decided to make a ‘pizza cookie’ with some of the dough.

Yes, you may recognize the tree.

And of course, they’re Mitchell approved.  🙂

Let me know what you think.

~ by Normanomicon on December 8, 2011.

One Response to “lower calorie blueberry, white chocolate chip oatmeal cookies”

  1. nice recipe 🙂 maybe I’ll try it

Comments are closed.

 
