Star Trek Bluetooth Communicator


onbeep-590x330I was reading an article on Geek.com about the Onbeep (The Star Trek style Bluetooth thing that’s new on the market), and came across a piece that showed a regular Star Trek Communicator, you know, like the ones Kirk and Spock used to use…

star-trek-communicator

Well, I did a little digging (couple of seconds on Google…and came up with a Make.com article on the very same subject.  Diana Eng and Dave Clausen bought one of the toy communicators and pimped it out to work via bluetooth.

Considering my son brought out his electronics learning kit within the last few days and we’re going through that, I started to think…hmm, what better way to teach about semi advanced electronics to my son than to build something that I want.  Yeah, yeah, I know, it’s selfish, but hey, he’ll get a kick out of it too.  And he’ll probably want to use it more than I will.

Head on over to the Make page and check it out:  How-To: Make a Star Trek Bluetooth Communicator

Either way, if I do go ahead and make one of these, I’ll document it here for you.

(all images are from the original Geek.com article and video is from the Make.com page)
~ by Normanomicon on November 6, 2014.

 
