Eat Less Meat? NO, Frak That, I’m eating MORE meat…


Seen on iO9.

They’re saying to eat less meat (no, not NO meat, just less meat) will help reduce our carbon footprint and in turn reduce global warming.  Let’s see a quick quote:

The reason for this is abundantly clear: Satisfying the world’s appetite for meat contributes to global warming in a massive way. More massive than most people realize, according to a new report from the non-profit, non-governmental thinktank Chatham House. Why don’t more people understand the environmental impact of livestock? When it comes to global warming, meat is the pig, cow, and chicken in the room that nobody wants to talk about.

(on a side note, iO9 isn’t saying this, they’re just reporting a story they found)

Ok, let’s take a quick look at a few things…

  • non-profit
  • non-governmental
  • thinktank

Yup, right there.  Don’t know them, don’t trust them.  I’ve seen too many non-profit, non-governmental, thinktanks say crap that is downright flat out BS.  Burn me once, shame on you, burn me twice, shame on me.  I would like to see where their contributions come from to fund them.  I’d also like to see this online survey they did.  I’ve asked at least 100 people if they’ve heard of it and nobody has any clue.  Now, I know that’s like less than 1% of the people on the planet, but still, you’d think at least one of them would have heard of it.  Especially since a few of them were vegetarian/vegan and one was a militant vegan.

You give me raw data and I’ll show you whatever you want to see.

Either way, I’m not going to decrease the amount of meat I eat because someone says it’s causing global warming.  Period.  Done.

How about focusing on the food, we focus on ways of making vehicles cleaner.  Or energy plants cleaner.  Or how about some of these big wigs in Washington and in the corporate sectors start flying commercial instead of private jets, etc.

Either way, I know I’m going to get lambasted for this one and my opinion on it, but…it’s my opinion and it’s my blog.  If you don’t like it, don’t read it.

And before you say I didn’t even read the damn report, yes, I did.  And and if you want to read the entire report, you can get it here:

Chatham House

 

~ by Normanomicon on December 6, 2014.

One Response to “Eat Less Meat? NO, Frak That, I’m eating MORE meat…”

  1. Fight the power brotha

Comments are closed.

 
