Bacon Vodka


Following along with the bacon theme yesterday, I’ve found a bacon vodka.  You may have seen the official Bacon Vodka page over at baconvodka.com, and yes, you can buy bacon vodka, but why buy it when you can make your own and enjoy your own handiwork.

Well over at Weer’d World, they’ve decided to make their own bacon vodka. Hope it turns out good.  I’ll probably try my own in the not too distant future.  If I do, I’ll let you know how it turns out.

 

 

 

So it begins. That’s 1 pound of Oscar Meyer low-sodium bacon in almost a half-gallon of Three Olives unflavored vodka. I tired to stuff it in two jars this time and had some left over vodka…I’ll put it to good use ;) but splitting it 3 ways is probably the best idea.

Over the next month I’ll shake the jars every few days and watch the color. When the vodka becomes saturated I’ll chill it in the freezer and strain it through a cheese cloth. By that point it’ll be the color of a young whiskey, or most dark rums. And hopefully it’ll taste like a slice of heaven!

 

~ by Normanomicon on October 23, 2010.

3 Responses to “Bacon Vodka”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Far, Sheryl, Jose Martinez, Some Chick in a Hat, Bacon and others. Bacon said: Whoa RT @Technog33k Bacon Vodka: http://wp.me/pJfKm-TL http://bit.ly/aOymmB […]

  2. Had a bottle of the Bakon Vodka. Smells better than my past attempts but the flavor wasn’t as rich. My big stumbling block has been filtering out the fat. Coffee filters clog almost instantly so I’m going to look into using either a nylon stocking or a fine cheese cloth.

    Makes great Martinis and bloody Marys.

Comments are closed.